Better than Expected

IMG_2999

So ! Today I had volunteer closing party of 15th Jeonju International Film Festival (JIFF) it was so crazy, just like the other party here in Korea, we had beer and fried chicken. They called it “chimek” and I had it for the first time today, it wasn’t bad though, and I can handle it (re: not being drunk), and it turned out that I was drinking soda-beer not real beer haha lol, that’s why I didn’t feel anything. Anyway! they rent a night club to held this big closing party, and I’m so amazed because they give such a fancy certificate, photobook and free food (the food is never-stop coming, if only i’m not on diet, I’ll take it out and bring all the chicken in my bag T.T) I ate 2 plates, well you can never waste free food, RULE NUMBER 1 !!

The most surprising thing today was …

I got the outstanding volunteer certificate :")

I got the outstanding volunteer certificate :”)

I really don’t know why they gave it to me (i’m not trying to look down to earth here) but I really have no idea. My work is just nothing compared to the other team.

15th Jeonju International Film Festival

After 1 month struggling on the orientation, which only held in Korean. Had problem to communicate each other, FINALLY! oh FINALLY, just one week before the pledge ceremony for volunteer, our group manager came! we (Michala and Me) read this part before were planning to gave up our volunteering because we can’t speak korean, and they can’t speak english. Well, some few people does speak english, but they just can’t always be our translator though. So, that day the other team manager told me that my manager is gonna be coming right after the orientation is over. So, we have to wait a lil bit longer and meet him.

My manager is actually … a guy. I was expecting have a gentle woman as my manager. But it turned out to be this big korean guy, who’s surprisingly can speak english very well. He said his apologize, that he cant be there when he supposed to be, and made us confused. He was actually did The Avengers 2 in Seoul, that’s why he came to Jeonju very-very late. He’s english was perfect! it turned out that he’s a Korean who’s migrated to US when he’s 10 years old, he’s even has American nationality. One day I went to the office with him to buy KTX ticket and he can’t spell name of city in Korean, and sometimes he can’t read well too. A completely foreigner, with Korean face.

So, after make sure that we can work well even if we can’t speak nor understand korean, it still fine because we have native boss. My manager is the coolest manager I’ve ever had! we called it just by his name, well he’s American, and we’re foreigner. But somehow it throw another problem because the other Korean volunteer and manager start to say that we’re unpolite because they have this age hierarchy in Korea. I tried to bow after we got that problem, but then he feel awkward and told me to stop that. So we ended up calling each other by name.

I worked for 7 days, from 1st May till 7th May. Everyday I have to woke up really early, and go bak so late, like 1 or 2 am because the juries are having party, and our job is like “their manager” so we can’t leave till they’re leaving. I had many black points because of the curfue, and I spent a lot of money bought formal outfit. I thought I was gonna only wearing the yellow volunteer jacket, but he suddenly told us that we have to dress well, since we’re the closest person to the judge. So, I spent about 200k won for outfits, my precious scholarship money …

We were wearing funeral-style colour everyday during the festival

We were wearing funeral-style colour everyday during the festival

 

Our little jury coordinator team

Our little jury coordinator team

There are 5 people in our team, 4 girls, and I manager, it just like charlie angles haha. I was in the same team as my manager and one of my college-korean friend. We had International competition, korean short competition and netpac jurries. I love international juries the most, most of them are talkative. And, there’s one korean actress that being our jury. She’s rarely speak with me, but she gave a lot of free cookies, and ice cream, which is good, and she always pat my back while smiling. She’s so beautiful! well, for a woman in her age, she has a really good skin and great body. A lot of girls had crush on this Japanese-Korean director, he’s so famous here too, his movie is great. Basically because I’ve done this kind of work before, back in my university, so I think that I didn’t have hard time doing this. Especially because they make it simple, my manager always giving breakdown when all of jury having break or while they’re watching movie, so he keep it short, and use time effectively.

The International Juries

The International Juries

We have different time schedule everyday, and everyone has its own post. My manager is gonna wait in hotel everyday, sometimes I went to hotel to greet them in the morning, next day I only waited in front of the cinema, the other day I rode super fancy BMW 7 series with the jury (i think my taste of car is really high now, after riding bmw several times with good looking volunteer driver lol). But we have this base camp, a coffee shop near the cinema, even the owner of the cafe gonna let us sit freely there in the room that we reserved for the juries. Well, we deserved to, we spend a lot of money everyday, buying coffee for our juries.

Fancy coffee shop that sell one cup of kopi luwak for 55.000 ~.~

Fancy coffee shop that sell one cup of kopi luwak for 55.000 ~.~

Italian restaurant, for 10.000 won salad

Italian restaurant, for 10.000 won salad

One little bowl bibimbap that cost 13.000 (lucky me, I ate it for free!)

One little bowl bibimbap that cost 13.000 (lucky me, I ate it for free!)

Thanks to this job, I’ve been in many fancy place and ate fancy food. We had this magic card that can pay for everything (well, it only for juries) it’s a JIFF credit card, but there’s only one. So, we had this epic story. My manager was going to restaurant with international competition juries, while I was reserving coffee shop place, and my other korean friend has the card because she had to pay for korean short juries. Then my manager asked her to come and pay, so she’s going. But a half hour later, she hasn’t been there, so I was running like a crazy girl, for the first time I felt like dying (no! it’s second run, the other one was running because my manager forgot to give the ticket to me), and finally give him the card, and running back to coffee shop, pick up the juries and go to cinema. Now, I just realised that I’ve been running  a lot during the festival. So, JIFF is famous for its strict time, whenever the movie has already started, u can never coming, don’t care whoever you are. One day, the international juries are really late, like they arrived just 5 minutes before the show. I was wearing my uncomfortable shoes, and we have to climb the stairs till 7 floor. We ran together with the juries, it was just so … breath taking haha.

I’ve ever lost when this jury only has 30 minutes to get lunch, and yet I don’t know the place. Gratefully we found the place, and make it on time. I ended up accompanying him eating lunch, I just watched him eating actually (suffered!) maybe that’s why another manager called our team so professional, because we can stand just watching they having fun, eating. My manager always say, be happy but not having fun. We just finished eating when my manager said that I can eat with him, and I hit him so hard, I just waste my fancy-free food, feel like crying inside. The saddest thing is we’re never really say goodbye to them, because we left early when they had closing party, actually my manager kicked us up, because he just felt it’s gonna be unfair if we stay in the party, while the other volunteer were working. So we left, with a really heavy feeling. See you whenever I see you, 15th JIFF juries :”””

The other interesting thing is that we growth a really deep friendship because of 7 days intensive meeting, we’re being so close each other and to our manager too. Its just so sad whenever I remember that they gonna leave even sooner than me, my korean friend is going to US next semester (her parent is so rich!) Michala gonna be back to Denmark in July, my dearest manager is flying back to LA in next two days, while I staying here till next year. Isn’t it irony ?

Volunteer for 15th Jeonju International Film Festival

Volunteer for 15th Jeonju International Film Festival

There’s no ending whenever I talked about JIFF. I had such a really great time during the festival, it just something that I can’t ever forget, the experience, meeting great people and just talk casually like there’s no one, when in the other side of the world, they have so many fans. I got a lot of friends, everyone is so nice, I ate a lot of free food during JIFF (that’s why I gained a lot of weight too). I have FUN FUN FUN !!!

 

One thought on “Better than Expected

  1. Pingback: Volunteer Abroad to Travel to a New Country: Korea Edition - wetravel.com

Leave a Reply

