A Glimpse of Osaka

I have to stay awake until 2AM for fasting, so instead of sleeping (I might not awake by then) I decided to post some about my travelling story in Japan, hope it will be much help for other backpackers who are planning to go to Japan. So, here we go !

June, 20th 2014

I booked the ticket for Osaka (actually my friend did, since my credit card didn’t work), it was surprisingly cheap, 100k won for roundtrip (100 USD) from Busan-Osaka. The funniest thing is that I spent more time to go to the airport (almost 5 hours from Seoul-Busan, and another 1 hour from bus terminal to airport) while Busan-Osaka flight only took 1 hour.

First thing First

I arrived at Kansai International Airport around 5pm, first thing to do! go to tourist information and ask about transportation in Japan. Why ? because Japan has a lot of company that run their public transportation, therefore you get bunch of options of price. The one that has shinkansen pass on it worth over 300 USD for 7 days pass, it is a bit ridiculous since it was even more expensive than airplane ticket from South Korea to Japan, so I decided not to purchase that pass. Actually if you’re planning to go from one-another perfecture in Japan, I advice you to go by plane, instead of train. Both fast, but sometimes going with plane is a lot more cheaper.

Since I only planned to go around Kansai area, the best option that I got was to purchase Kansai pass with 5,200 yen (50 USD) for 3 days. With this pass, I can go around Kansai area, using all the subway except JR lines. It’s a bit “worked” because sometimes I need to transfer to different station, but still, its cheap and convenient. One important point when you get this pass. ONLY RIDE THE LIMITED EXPRESS TRAIN TO GO TO ANOTHER CITY, I’ll explain the reason later.

Dotonburi and Takoyaki

Since it was around 7pm already when I arrived at my hostel, I decided to go around the neighbourhood to find dinner, and see what Japan looks like in night. So, my first destination is Dotonburi area. It more like “Shibuya” version of Osaka, it has so many shops and also restaurants, with (of course) thousand people. It appeared that It was pretty far from my hostel, abut 40 mins walk. But since I’ve got to walk alot ever since I lived in South Korea, it wasn’t a big problem.

Shinsaibashi

Shinsaibashi

After a long long long walked, we reached Shinsaibashi area, which included dotonburi and also in the same neighbourhood as nipponbashi (otaku heaven). It was already 9PM when we got there, and surprisingly most of the store has already closed. I dont know why, but store in Osaka open so late, yet close so early.

Nipponbashi Area

Nipponbashi Area

Restaurant decoration along Shinsaibashi-Dotonburi

Restaurant decoration along Shinsaibashi-Dotonburi

 

The famous glico sign in Dotonburi area

The famous glico sign in Dotonburi area

 

This area isn’t only famous by their shopping place, but also heaven for our tummy. I can say without doubt that most of Japanese food taste really good, well sometimes in Korea it kinds of hit and miss. But in Japan, I haven’t found restaurant that dissapointed my appetite. It might be expensive though, 12 pieces of takoyaki cost 800 Yen, so the best option you got: share!

DSC_4705

Busy Takoyaki restaurant

Busy Takoyaki restaurant

I love Osaka since first day I came, although somehow Japanese public tranportation makes me frustrated (since they have lots of company running it) after couples day I figured how to handle it. Each region of Osaka has different ‘color’, some district are so crowded, while the other is so quiet. Some has so many street food stall, why the other is so classy. As a backpacker, I’d love to advice you to visit Kansai area, because it has all place that you want to see, from theme park-ocean-mountain.

We wrapped up the night, and back to hostel. Can’t wait for tomorrow itinerary.

Want Ice cream ?

Want Ice cream ?

One thought on “A Glimpse of Osaka

Leave a Reply

