Wanju Food Festival

Last week, I went to student dormitory cafeteria and had the worst dinner so far. They fried the cucumber! and I was kind of mumbling, what’s the point of frying fresh cucumber, when you can just eat it ? and my friend simply answered “Koreans love to fried everything. You have to admit it.” BINGO! on the weekend after worst dinner, I went to Wanju Food Festival, and found most of thing are being fried, from Jujube to Ginseng, from Frog to grasshopper. They do love frying things 🙂

Catching Trout!

Catching Trout!

I was actually planning to go to Namdo Food Festival, but then I met my oppa (read: senior at college) and he said that he’ll go to Wanju this weekend for food festival. I said that I’ll go too but to the other food festival, then he said if my food festival is lame, and the other one is better. I was insisting to go to Namdo, till he mention that I don’t have to pay for the bus, since Wanju provide shuttle bus for free. I ended up going to Wanju (wild) food festival lol.

grilling your own catched trout!

grilling your own catched trout!

It is an annual festival of Jeollabuk-do that held around the end of September or first week of October. It’s called wild food festival, since they served fresh caught animals to eat, some are bizarre too. The signature dish of this festival is frog! my French friends wouldn’t be agree with me, since it wasn’t bizarre for them. They usually eat buttery frog-legs. But, well…have you ever eat the body …

Before vs After (deep fried frog, 3,000 won)

Before vs After (deep-fried frog, 3,000 won)

It’s pretty pricey for, I mean … it’s frog. It feels creepy typing this while the living one staring at me, anyway! it was my first time eating frog, and surprisingly, it was okay. The leg taste likes chicken, while the body is pretty gross, it has a lot of black eggs inside the body. Four of us ate it while closing our eyes, it’s not that bad, but visually annoying.

Wild cooking show

wild cooking show

Besides frog, this festival has cooking show that cooked grasshopper, silkworm, and crickets. Unfortunately we’re late, and it’s already over, thus next show is 3 hour later. But, we got the cookies and deep-fried silkworm free.

Each cookie has 15% of crickets

each cookie has 15% of crickets, ITS FREE! and taste good

What I love the most of going to Food Festival is: lot of free foods, especially, since I’m a foreigner (who is shameless) I continuously ask for free sample lol. This wild food festival is pretty impressive though, it has a lot of things to do. The first one: eat. Next one, there are lot activities such as catching fish, grasshopper, eel and cook it by yourself. There’s also kid’s traditional playground, and little zoo. It has all, and it’s free. They even provide shuttle bus. IT WAS AMAZING. I only spend money for meal’s, and it mostly cost around 1,000 – 5,000. It’s so cheap, and the food is so good.

Free ice cream for everyone! trust me, the handmade ice cream tastes so good.

free ice cream for everyone! trust me, the handmade ice cream tastes so good. Or maybe because its free (?) lol

catching grasshoper in the rice field, not as easy as I thought.

catching grasshopper in the rice field, not as easy as I thought.

Look! I caught 5!

Look! I caught 5!

It was around 2 o’clock and the orchestra of my tummy started to play their masterpiece, so I went to see what food to eat (since there’s a lot, I have to decide it wisely right ? so then I went to the other side of those rice field and zoo, kids playground. Welcome to food heaven !

The making of soybean powder rice cakes

the making of soybean powder rice cakes

Frying ginseng

frying ginseng

tteokpokki sisters, say cheers!

tteokpokki sisters, say cheers!

some korean pancake please!

some korean pancake please!

grilling corn

grilling corn

I just realized when I saw my pictures, that most of ‘chefs’ are woman. So, this is more like wild food festival served by wild woman.

As I always craving for sweets, I decided to move into street food stalls. The best thing of living in Korea (second after there’s no lizard) is their street food, or maybe it’s third, I’ll place pat bingsu on second place lol. Instead of big meal, I rather eat snacks, frequently. Thus, makes my body being like … I’m not gonna say it specifically.

donut ~~

donut ~~

fried jujube with flour

fried jujube with flour

korean traditional bread

korean traditional bread

My heart goes to …

strawberry hotteok, 3 for 2,000 won

strawberry hotteok, 3 for 2,000 won

I guess hotteok is one of my favourite dessert, especially when I ran out of money. Well, I prefer tteok (rice cakes) though, but hotteok is cheaper, and I would love to eat pat bingsu everyday in my life. If only one bowl doesn’t cost as much as 8,000.

tteok

honey grilled tteok

I don’t have much things to say about the festival, I adore the event. The food was good, the service was amazing, the free things were pleasing, plus! it’s very accessible from Jeonju. But I guess they provide bus to Seoul too. Sadly, this festival wasn’t appeared on visit korea website, and the official website of Wanju Wild Food Festival is only in Korean. Just remember it will be held around the end of September or first week of October 😀

 

One thought on “Wanju Food Festival

  1. haha, if I was at that food festival I would be like you: a “shameless foreigner asking for free food samples”. Although I would probably skip the frog…even if offered for free…

Leave a Reply

