Autumn in Korea

Here in Korea, autumn season is also called “lonely” season. My teacher said, autumn makes people feel lonely, especially for those who doesn’t have boy/girlfriend. In my case, every season just feel the same, LOL. I guess it’s because after cheerful, hot summer, the weather gradually being cooler, the wind blow harder, leaf starts to come off … suddenly you need someone to face the coldness together, that’s why sometimes it does bring the feel of loneliness. Time really flew so fast! it’s already November, next month is gonna be winter, even my teacher said by the end of this month, there’s gonna be first snow fall. Finally, I can feel the winter, super excited.

maple trees

maple trees

Before all the leaves came off from the tree, and because I wont be able to see such things in my home country, I decided to see maple at Naejangsan Mountain. Since I lived in the southern part of Korea, Naejangsan is the closest place to enjoy autumn color-trees, it’s only 1 hour ride by bus from Jeonju with 4,300 ticket (one way). While trees had already has no leaves in northern part of Korea, such as Soraksan mountain, and Nami Island, the most beautiful time to see Naejangsan Mountain is usually range during the first week of November. Everything goes slower in south part, and that’s a good thing 😀

Actually, the most beautiful time to see maple trees was on 7th of November this year (my teacher search it out on Daum), but since I’m having class during that day, and I’m expecting a lot of people will come on the weekend, I decided to go on 6th. But guess what ? it’s already packed with people (re: ahjussi’s and ahjumma’s) who are going to hike. Hiking in such a cold day, but then people hike everest, so .. I guess it’s a normal thing.

beautiful street surrounded by maple trees

beautiful street surrounded by maple trees

The admission ticket for Naejangsan national park is 3,000 for adult, and half price for kids. I wish I’m a kid, LOL. What’s actually interesting for me is the food stall on the way to the entrance of the park. The food stall aren’t joke ! that’s like hundred of food stall, and restaurant places, which was actually distracted me hahah!

warm pancake food stall

roasted chestnuts food stall

pancake with red bean filling

pancake with red bean filling

Most of food stall sell warm food during this season, they sell pancake with red bean filling, roasted chestnuts, hotteok, boiled olive, rice cakes, and boendegi. Speaking of boendegi (번데기), you can find it easily in Korea, everywhere. I still wondering why people love this boiled silkworm larva. I’ve ever tried it twice, well it’s not gross, but I just can’t keep eating it. I don’t like its smell.

boiled boendegi, korean silkworm larva

boiled boendegi, korean silkworm larva

Some stall also sell side dish, or ingridients for cooking at home. There was even street market that sell beans to vegetables and fruits. The price is absolutely cheaper than mart. You can get a box of persimmon or orange for only 10,000 won. Perfect for family size, I guess that’s why ahjumma’s going here, besides for hiking.

street market

street market

DSC_8036

guess what ? it's dried seaweed!

guess what ? it’s dried seaweed!

want some dried shrimp ?

want some dried shrimp ?

left, sweet potato sticks. right, rice crackers.

left, sweet potato sticks. right, rice crackers.

I was actually looking for boiled sweet potato, I’m a huge fan of sweet potato. My mom and close friends know that, unfortunately they haven’t sell it on autumn. They will start selling it on winter, when the temperature goes down, so people could keep stay warm by eating boiled sweet potato. Yippie!

grilled pork body

grilled pork body

Some restaurant here served bizarre food, well, they used normal ingridients, but how they served it … somehow … unusual. As you look (upside) picture, some of you may wonder where’s the head ? no, they didn’t put it on trash bag, they put it …

pork-head soup

pork-head soup

on the pot for soup. Korean does love pork so much, a way too much. They also have stuffed pork intestines inside octopus, what an extraordinary mix right. Some stall also served grill birds, and a usual pancake with red bean filling or rice cakes. Going to Naejangsan National Park is absolutely more than hiking trip, prepare your tummy for bizarre, yummy, and fresh food!

stuffed pork intestines and octopus

stuffed pork intestines inside octopus

grilled pigeon

grilled pigeon

Leave a Reply

