Adultery by Coelho

I’ve always been a huge fan of Paulo Coelho since Alchemist, I first read it (The Alchemist) because one of my friend said I have to read Coelho to see broader perspective of life, to think. So, I read it. The  Alchemist was a great journey for me, no wonder if it’s a best-selling book around the world. Then I began to read The Pilgrimage, Brida, Like The Flowing River, and finally his brand new book: Adultery!

b366d5cf642f55136552e113999ca165

I’d say, reading Coelho’s is depressing, I feel like his words captivated me so depth. His story feels so true, thus I cant help but think a lot after finishing one of his, and I have a great expectation for Adultery. This book just released during summer, August 2014. I just got the iBook last month, and finished it by this week. It took a long time to finish this one, just because I hate thinking of life after reading it too much lol.

***

Have you ever imagined living a perfect life, until one day it feels like you suddenly woke up from your sweet dream and started to asking yourself, what did I actually do in this life ? what did I want ? what I have done ? what should I do next ?

Yes, it sounds so depressing. But, I’ve read this typical book couples time. The other one is about a woman who asks for divorce in her 50’s, when she found out that she never really living her life. Sucks. I hate reading this kind of book that talked about marriage, because, it just so true. I mean, I believe everyone in marriage life at least once feel the same. Thus, make ma afraid of getting married.

When we deny our destiny because it’s leading us toward happiness, and all we want is security

The older we became, the less risk we took since we’ve long living a great life (we assumed) with same routines each day. We already have everything we need, there’s nothing to improve. We stop asking for new things, we no longer curious, and we no longer feel “alive”. Thus leads us to boredom and loneliness, even if you surrounded by people who loved, but sadly, you can’t even feel the love. It sounds so depressed isn’t it ?

We aren’t who we want to be. We are what society demands. We are what our parents choose. We don’t want to disappoint anyone. We have a great need to be loved. So, we only revealed the best of us, and left the real “monster” deep inside.

We are the ones who create the messes in our heads. It does not come from outside.

And when we feel vulnerable, the monster started to getting bigger … instead of looking for companionship, we isolate ourself even more in order to lick our wounds in silence.

This book, covered all aspect in our life. Love, our relationship with God, Life. It’s both depressing and enlightening. Just like another book of him, he explain the importance of relationship with God, faith, even if we can’t choose our lives, but we can decide what to do with it.

Ever since we’ve moved away from God, we love a fragmented existence. We try to find oneness, but we don’t know the way back; thus we are in a state of constant dissatisfaction.

I love how Coelho explain love in this book, he keeps the detail, and make it so beautiful, even if it doesn’t seem as easy as fairytale.

When you love each other, you have to be ready for anything. Because love is like a kaleidoscope. It’s in constant movement and never repeats itself.

The constant fear of never finding someone to accompany us to the end of our days has led us to accept the wrong person and convincing ourselves that he/she is the one, who God has placed in our path.

But I do think failure is important part in learning to love, thus you’ll figure it the right one, and understand why it never works with other. Thus, you could learn from every failure, to be a better person, for yourself, and for the ones you love.

What kills a relationship between two people is precisely the lack of challenge, the feeling that nothing new anymore. But then, when our partner started to revealing themselves, we couldn’t accept it. We want our partner to remain the person we met at the altar and with whom we exchanged rings.

We cannot. Time doesn’t change the man. The only thing that changes us is love.

Sincere is one of many forms of love, the hardest, yet if we succeed to be the one, we won’t be suffer in love.

When we give everything, we have nothing more to lose. And then fear, jealousy, boredom, and monotony disappear and all that remains is the light from a void that does not frighten us, but brings us closer to one another.

To love forever is to love forever. Because we want to keep going with someone who deserved our Love, and who knows how to loves us as we think we deserve to be loved.

True Love doesn’t consist of exposing your weakness to others, but instead of being unafraid to show when you need help and rejoicing in finding that things are better than what others said.

I’m not a master in love, in fact, I still have a long way to go. But so far, I learn if in the process of love, giving is the most important thing. When you ‘re sincere, you have nothing more to lose, and if that person doesn’t accept your sincerity, that means he doesn’t deserved to be love either. It does need time to learn how to respect, understand, compromise each other, thus we can’t give up in one shot (well, sometimes it just doesn’t work out how many times we tried to either).

At least for now, I do happy with my life. I don’t know if he’s the right one, but no one is perfect, and we don’t live in a fairytale, so we have to keep learning. I will.

Leave a Reply

