Solo’s Culinary Trip

It’s 1 AM West Indonesian Time, and I’m still fully awake. I drank coffee this afternoon, and guess that I’m having caffeine intolerance, so I can barely sleep. My friend is snoring in front of me now, while I’m typing this post. It’s been a long time since my last trip, yeah life started to be so busy after I came back home. So, everything seems to be so hectic, well not really. But, I could barely go around, eat and take pictures. I still go out during weekend though, but I decided not to bring my camera. So, here it is, my resume about last vacation in Solo.

Solo, which has official name as “Surakarta” is in Central Java, in about 1,5 hour drive from Jogjakarta. This is actually my first time going around the city to find great dishes. One of my best friend during college, is living here in town! lucky me, I don’t have to hire the guide ūüėÄ

My very first destination is¬†Pasar Gede, in english its mean big market. It’s located in the middle of the town, and has various kind of traditional market dishes. Just like any other typical Indonesian market, don’t expect it to be clean and smells good. But at least, it was convenient enough to walk on.

Pasar Gede

the atmosphere of Pasar Gede

As soon as I walked inside the market, my friend pointed out the most famous¬†es¬†dawet¬†(traditional beverage) stall. Luckily, it just opened and I don’t have to queue. What makes it different with another¬†es dawet¬†are the use of¬†bubur sumsum¬†(sweet porridge) and¬†selasih¬†(basil seeds).

Es Dawet selasih Bu Watik, IDR 6,500

Es Dawet selasih Bu Watik, IDR 6,500

I have to admit if it’s really good! like really. I used to buy¬†es dawet near to Prambanan temple, just because my mom always bring me there when I was a kid. It’s my first time eating this kind of¬†es dawet, since usually in Indonesia, it just served in a glass without the use of sweet porridge, and basil seeds. It wasn’t overly sweet, and the porridge was surprisingly gave savory sensation. It just a perfect fusion in my mouth. Worth a try.

preparing es dawet with happy face

preparing es dawet with happy face

Across the stall, we found traditional snacks such as keripik¬†usus¬†(chips made from chicken’s intestines),¬†onde-onde cuplis (traditional cookies), and many more. The price range from IDR 10,000 – 20,000. Pretty cheap, and it’s good. I love the cookies.

would you like to buy some ?

would you like to buy some ?

big big chicken's wings

big big chicken’s wings

intestines chip !

intestines chips !

I love going around the market, it wasn’t so crowded since it’s not a weekend, and market is not a very common place for Indonesian youth. It’s a bit over generalisation though, but that’s true! But, just in case you’ll come to Indonesia, I truly recommended to go to this market, it’s a worth.

Kue Pukis, IDR 4,000/pcs

Kue Pukis, IDR 4,000/pcs

Just right outside the market, there’s this one super delicious¬†pukis stall. Pukis is a traditional cake made from flour, sugar, egg, and has some flavor such as chocolate, or cheese. Rather than make a filling, they usually put it as topping, or put some chunks inside the cake. The size is differ from the price, this one is the most expensive kue pukis¬†that I’ve ever eaten in life.

I got the cheese one!

I got the cheese one!

Guess what ? it deserves the price! it was amazingly melted in my mouth, I love the cheese chunks inside the cake. Just the right amount, and not overly sweet. The dough was so soft, and moist, easily bitten and so chewy. Freshly made, four thumbs up!

Tauhue, IDR 6,000

Tauhue, IDR 6,000

Right beside the¬†pukis¬†stall, there’s a man who sells¬†Tauhue.¬†Tauhue¬†(ŤĪÜŤäĪ) is actually Chinese traditional beverage made from soy. As you can see the picture, the white part inside the bowl is made from soy. We usually drink it with ginger. So, basically it’s a fusion between savory, sweet and spicy. Talking about Chinese, many of Indonesian dishes are heavily influenced by Chinese dishes that are hardly been found in China itself. The dishes are usually a fusion product between these two cultures.

Selat Mbak Lies, IDR 30,000

Selat Mbak Lies, IDR 30,000

One of Solo’s signature dish is:¬†Selat Solo. When you look that picture upside, it may remind you of beef steak. Well, yeah! it’s kind of pretty similar. The difference between both dishes are the soup. Wait up, soup ? yap, this beef steak, potato wedges, egg and vegetables also consist with little amount of soup inside the plate. The most famous restaurant that served this dish is¬†Selat Mbak Lies. If you come to the restaurant, you’ll see many signatures of Indonesian public figures, and politician. About the taste ? I have no doubt to say that it’s tasty, even if I couldn’t eat it all, since I’ve been eating A LOT. But, it’s definitely good as for taste and the amount of money.

Warung Selat Mbak Lies

Veteran, Gang Yudistira II No. 42, Cerengan, RT03/RW02, Surakarta, Jawa Tengah 57133, Indonesia

Price range: Selat start from IDR 30,000

Bubblegum Milk, Oatmeal Milk, and Oreo Milk, IDR 9,000 each

Bubblegum Milk, Oatmeal Milk, and Oreo Milk, IDR 9,000 each

Our country slogan is, to complete your meal with milk. So, here we are, having our own glass full of milk. Unfortunately, it was overly sweet for me, so I have no choice but not to drink it up. But both of my friends drank it all, so I guess it’s just because I’m a sugar hypersensitive. But just in advice, ask them not to mix the sugar together with the milk. Have a great trip !!

Leave a Reply

