Tanned at Pahawang Island

It’s been a loooooong time ago since my last post. I must’ve been busy all these times (Yes, I had!) after struggling with my undergraduate thesis, I started to work as communication officer at one of international NGO (based in Indonesia of course). Well, anyway I’m not gonna talk about myself here. I want to share my last trip to Pahawang island, Lampung.

DSC_0347

the wave is calling you to go!
the wave is calling you to go!

 

This may not sound familiar for you, it’s not as famous as Bali for sure. But this one is considered as cheap options for short vacation (1-2 days). There are many ways to get to Lampung, the cheapest way is by bus and ship from Jakarta. Jakarta-Lampung by ship took around 2,5 hours (depends on the tidal currents and crowd). If you’re lucky enough you’ll get the best quality ship with the same price. But, if you’re having bad luck, you’ll get a mourn-able ship. Don’t let it crash your mood!
DSC_0198
Boat that will take you to Pahwang Island
Boat that will take you to Pahwang Island

 

Pahawang island is located around 3 hours ride from Bakaheuni harbor in Lampung. From what I heard, it is easier to reach Pahawang by the sea (instead of taking airplane, but again it depends on your time). I arrived in the morning around 5 am at the harbor, and spent 3 hours ride by car (take your vitamin, this journey could be tiring). Reaching Ketapang, we then prepared to take another boat to reach Pahawang island. It feels like we’re spending nearly half day to reach Pahawang.
Let's meet underwater creatures!
Let’s meet underwater creatures!
Super clear water!
Super clear water!
This infinity pool, feels awesome!
This infinity pool, feels awesome!

But, I have to admit that the view is worth the effort! The sun is shinning so brightly, and burned my skin. Frankly said, there are not so many things that you could do in Pahawang (besides swimming and snorkelling). I love the beach though, it has no wave. It does feel like you’re having infinity pool. The water itself was so clear, unfortunately the coral wasn’t as beauty as I had imagined. Most of them weren’t alive, my guide said the fishermen used to bombed the fishes, so it has destroyed the coral. However, these days the locals and fishermen stated to plant coral, ever since Pahwang became one of main tourism places in Lampung. It worths the vist, if you’re having short time and short budget!

credit to my guide
credit to my guide
2 thoughts on “Tanned at Pahawang Island

Leave a Reply

